T. Gunter Duckworth

The Southwest Society of Orthodontists was first organized in the fall of 1920 at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas, Texas. The founding members included Dr. T.G. Duckworth of San Antonio, Dr. T.O. Gorman of San Antonio, Dr. W.T. Chapman of El Paso, Dr. O.E. Busby of Dallas, Dr. A.B. Conly of Dallas, Dr. C.M. McCauley of Dallas, Dr. P.G. Spencer of Waco, and Dr. E.B. Arnold of Houston.

Dr. Thomas O. Gorman
First President, 1921

Dr. Thomas O. Gorman was elected to be the first official president of the society. The first annual meeting was held in Dallas, at the Adolphus Hotel, in March of 1921, with eleven members present. The society's original geographic make-up included the states of Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, and Arkansas. The boundaries were extended in 1923 to include Kansas.

In 1953, during his term as president of the Southwestern Society, Dr. Clarence W. Koch appointed a committee to oversee a memorial established in honor of Dr. Martin Dewey. Dr. Dewey was involved in many Southwestern Society programs and many society members had graduated from his Dewey School of Orthodontia.

William E. Flesher

Paul Guy Spencer

Brooks Bell

John W. Richmond

Southwestern Society of Orthodontists First Past Presidents' Breakfast, Hotel Muehlebach, Kansas City, October 20, 1967 – Left to Right, seated: Thermon B. Smith, Harry H. Sorrels, Hugh A. Sims, W. B. Stevenson, Jack H. Weaver, Robert E. Gaylord, Leo A. Rogers. Top row, left to right: Nathan G. Gaston, Tom M. Matthews, Ott L. Voight, Howard H. Dukes, Victor J. Benton, Reuben E. Olson, Walter E. Lipscomb, John W. Richmond and William R. Alstadt.

The Dewey Award was decided to be presented yearly, in recognition of individuals who have made remarkable contributions and advancements to the field of orthodontics. The Dewey award is still given out annually and is the highest esteemed honor awarded to members of the Southwestern Society.